Science and art

I never thought Id even be saying the word science again. I would never have made the link before now. But there is so much to these two completely different processes that have a huge compatibility the cross over and the link is more than you would expect, well in my eyes anyway.

https://www.forbes.com/sites/quora/2016/03/16/why-art-and-science-are-more-closely-related-than-you-think/#6da88a9169f1

“Both science and art are human attempts to understand and describe the world around us. The subjects and methods have different traditions, and the intended audiences are different, but I think the motivations and goals are fundamentally the same.”

This quote from Forbes.com sums this idea up nice and simply. The whole process being visual communication, even though fundamentally they are both taking a different approach. Its about exploration and communicating a message letting us know about the world we live in with a visual language. I never thought that I personally would have looked at photosynthesis and cell structure within thins year of my art degree. But learning the understanding behind them allows the creative process to play on the ideas. Giving a different context and energy to say pure scientific context but fundamentally communicating a message.

Leave a comment